Home   Our School   Our Governors

Our Governors

Parish Priest
Fr M Brentnall

P. Hurd

Vice Chair
M. Tumelty

Foundation Governors

H. Nutman (SEN Link Governor)
J. Ludlow

Clerk to Governors
H. Childs

P. Ackers

Parent Governor

St John Fisher Governance Arrangements

St John Fisher has a local governing body (LGB) which is a sub-committee of the St Ralph Sherwin Catholic Multi Academy Trust.

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Nottingham has given the following general remit to Local Governing Bodies:

“The first duty of foundation governors is to act on behalf of the diocesan bishop in ensuring that the Catholic character of the school is preserved and developed.”

In addition to this, each LGB is charged with:

  • Monitoring the school’s standards (including pupil’s wider outcomes)
  • Being a link between the local and parish community and the Academy Trust Company’s Board of Directors
  • Overseeing behaviour and attendance matters including dealing with pupil disciplinary matters
  • Managing admissions and complaints from parents

The Scheme of Delegation provides greater detail about responsibilities of the LGB

If you need to contact the Chair of Governors please email:


The Academy Trust is the legal entity. Further details relating to the governance arrangements for the Academy Trust can be found at the following link:

Governors Business Interest





End of Term

of office

Patricia Hurd  – Chair I work part time teaching at St Teresa’s Primary Academy and part time at the Diocesan book shop March 2018 October 2018 2022
Mark Tumelty –

Vice Chair

No Business Interests declared – September 2017 September 2017 2021
Helen Nutman – Governor No Business Interests declared – December 2017 December 2015 2023
Paul Ackers – Head Teacher No Business Interests declared – September 2017 January 2017 N/A
Katherine Ashmore – Parent  Governor No Business Interests declared – January 2018 January 2018 2021
Josephine Ludlow – Governor  No Business Interests declared – January 2018  January 2018 2021
 Governors  2018/2019  In accordance with the Articles of Association
Patricia Hurd –Chair Appointed by NRCDES
Mark Tumelty –Vice Chair Appointed by NRCDES
Helen Nutman – Governor Appointed by NRCDES
Josephine Ludlow – Governor Appointed by NRCDES
Katherine Ashmore – Parent Governor Appointed by Parents of Academy
Paul  Ackers  – Head Teacher   Ex Officio Director